Overview and Timeline

Project Overview

The proposed Derryadd Wind Farm will be developed on cutaway peatlands on Derryadd, Derryaroge and Lough Bannow bogs in south Co. Longford. The three bog areas on which the proposed wind farm will be located are generally adjacent to the communities of Derraghan, Keenagh, Killashee and Lanesborough.

To view the Project Information Booklet, please click here.


Why is Bord na Móna submitting a new planning application for the proposed Derryadd Wind Farm?

Bord na Móna maintains the view that the most appropriate climate change solution and optimum land use for the site continues to be a project combining wind energy, amenity and rehabilitation. The development of a wind farm on these bogs will compliment other land uses within the site and across the wider Mountdillion Bog Group, including the company’s peatland rehabilitation programme and ongoing amenity development in the area, which includes the Mid Shannon Wilderness Park.


How many turbines are proposed for the development?

Resulting from the development of the draft wind turbine layout, there are 25 turbines proposed for the Derryadd Wind Farm project.

To view the Draft Wind Turbine Layout Map, please click here


What height are the proposed turbines and how close are they to people’s homes?

The proposed turbines will have an overall blade tip height ranging from 170 - 190 metres.


What setback distance has been applied from houses?

The turbine layout has been designed with a minimum setback distance of 4 times the tip height - 760 metres to the nearest house.


When will a planning application be lodged?

It is envisaged that a planning application will be lodged in early 2023 for the proposed development. It is intended to submit the planning permission application directly to An Bord Pleanála, under the provisions of the Planning and Development (Strategic Infrastructure) Act 2006. An initial approach is therefore being made to An Bord Pleanála seeking a determination in relation to the Strategic Infrastructure Development (SID) status, or otherwise, of the proposed wind farm development.

What land area will the proposed wind farm occupy?

Only approximately 3% of this area will be used for turbine bases, crane hard-standings and access tracks, so much of the land area will not be required by the development. This means that it can be utilised for other purposes, such as biodiversity and amenity.


Where will the power from the proposed wind farm go?

The electricity generated by the turbines will be transmitted directly onto Ireland’s National Grid which is managed by EirGrid for distribution around the country. The proposed development will make a significant contribution to Irelands Climate Action Plan 2021, which has set a target of 8GW of onshore wind capacity by 2030.


What stage is the project at now?

The project team is conducting a number of onsite surveys, including ecology surveys and ornithology surveys. Further ecological surveys, aquatic surveys, heritage surveys and site investigation works will be undertaken over the course of the next few months. In addition to these ongoing site works, we are also looking to consult with the community on the draft wind turbine layout.


What is the proposed MW?

Early studies of the site have indicated that the proposed development may be capable of accommodating approximately 150 Megawatts (MW) of installed generating capacity. When operational, the proposed Derryadd Wind Farm will generate a volume of electricity equivalent to the average annual electrical demand of circa 98,000 Irish homes*.